Gavin’s appointment with Dr.R left me with a migraine I didn’t have going into the appointment, still in a Fibro-flare, and feeling completely emotionally and mentally drained. Narcolepsy aside, it’s been a struggle to keep my eyes open ever since I got home. I wasn’t expecting things to be so exhausting. I’ll know better next time.

I don’t like the idea of Gavin being on Lithium; however, if it’s what necessary to help Gavin and hopefully make our lives a little calmer, then we’ve gotta do what we’ve gotta do.

The Seroquel scares the pants off me; I’m not going to lie. The fact that it’s very possible for the facial tics to be permanent – that’s the last thing Gavin needs, is something else to overcome.

I worry about the long-term side effects that we may not be aware of, of all of the medications Gavin is on currently and has been on in the past.

I feel horrible saying this but I wish this were happening to someone else’s baby, not mine. Not just because it’s exhausting to parent a child with special needs such as Gavin’s but also because I can’t imagine what it must be like for him. Never knowing for sure if the voices he hears talking to him are real or in his head. I’ve always had compassion for John Nash, his story about life with schizophrenia is portrayed in the movie “A Beautiful Mind”, when he asks a student at the end of the movie if she can see a gentleman who is talking to him. Now that I have a child with much the same problem and concern; it is a whole different kind of compassion.

