Emmett John currently has a very strong love affair going on with his shoes. Yes, you read that correctly, I said his shoes.

At first, he wore them if he had to but he was clumsy and didn’t like them very much. Then out of nowhere he became absolutely obsessed with his shoes. He wanted to wear them when ever Rob or I had our shoes on or if he saw Gavin or Elliott Richard putting their shoes on. Now, the rest of us could be barefoot (something that doesn’t happen in our house – ever) and Mr. Emmett John would still have his socks and shoes on. He even wears them to sleep in.

Seriously, the other night I fell asleep while getting him asleep. Then at around 1AM he kicked me and I figured enough was enough. He was deep asleep enough that I thought I could remove them without problems.

Wrong!

I was able to get his right shoe and sock and his left shoe off before he woke up in a screaming, arm-flailing rage! He laid there screaming and smacking his feet while he flailed. Once I put his sock and shoes back on him, he passed out as if he’d never been awake.

And let us not forget last night, his two-hour screaming jag all because he wanted his socks and shoes on but couldn’t adequately communicate it to me.

I don’t know if this obsession is an Autism/Aspergers/PDD (Pervasive Developmental Disorder) obsession or if it falls under the category of Sensory Integration Disorder. I can tell you that these Lightning McQueen light-up Wal*Mart shoes aren’t going to last much longer if he keeps loving them as much as he is. (lol)

* posted on the fly w/o the use of proper editing tools 😉 *

~ Lizzeann

