No, I’m not referring to my hair! Although I am slowly working toward full-fledged salt and pepper hair. I’m referring to Elliott Richard’s new pets.

He is the super proud new owner of two Bearded Dragons named: Salt and Pepper! =)

He started the weekend with a baby Green Iguana named Draco. Rob’s roommate in college had one and he loved it. So when we had to make the sad decision to pass out terrerium/aquarium on to Uncle Brian because Mr. Emmett John was too preoccupied with tossing things in, we also decided to get something small to replace it. Little did I know that Green Iguanas start out small and grow into something could eat a small dog if it were so inclined!!! (Where do we find the tiny lizards you see in movies??? Those things are always poisonous but never that big!) So Draco came home and joined the Cheerio family. Daddy and Elliott Richard had a blast setting up his new home and feeding him and holding him.

Until Daddy got a tad research happy. What started as a joke about how you tell the boys from the girls, turned into an all out, “Honey, this is so cool! Did you know…?” session. This session ended with Rob declaring that Draco needed to go back to the store because Green Iguana bites could get so bad and people have actually lost fingers!

So first thing this morning, despite having had little to no sleep, Daddy and Elliott Richard took Draco back to the store and returned with two Bearded Dragons. The Bearded Dragons were bred in captivity so they are super people friendly and will just cling to your shoulder while you go about your business. And by “your” I of course mean everyone’s shoulder but mine because while I’ve always thought I liked lizards; I was wrong. These things (the Green Iguana too) freak me out and panic me in ways I don’t understand.

Elliott Richard, and the other two for that matter, also think Salt and Pepper are really cool. So I’ll live with my anxiety over them. At least they are slightly better than Draco. Except for the fact that we have two and no way to sex them so there’s a chance we could end up with baby Salt and Peppers at some point in the future. Yippee. Just what we need.

