My morning began with Mr. Emmett John waking up and refusing to go back to sleep at 4AM. Finally, at 6:30-7AM, when I couldn’t keep my eyes open any longer, I handed Emmett John over to Rob and went back to bed. Yeah, that was short lived.

When 8AM rolled around all too quickly Elliott Richard woke me up saying that Gavin had “poked himself in the eye”. I couldn’t hear the screaming yet and also couldn’t figure out why Rob needed me to help with this slight injury.

Turns out Gavin and Elliott Richard were playing in the Play Room and Gavin went digging through the Toy Box. Somehow in his enthusiasm he didn’t notice the piece of plastic race track sticking out of the Toy Box.

In he dove.

The track raced up to meet him, square in his right eye.

And the screaming, flailing and blind (literally) swinging punches began.

When I got downstairs Gavin was on the stairs to try and limit his ability to harm himself or others with his blind flailing and swinging. He had also rubbed his eye to the point of making his whole eyelid pink and extremely swollen. Every time we tried to get his eye open to survey the damage, it triggered another round of screaming, flailing and blind swinging. Not to mention, although clearly I am, the high-pitched, ear-splitting, migraine inducing (seriously, he gave me a migraine that I can’t get rid of) screeching. When he finally allowed me to look at his eye it appeared to me that he had a long corneal abrasion/scratch. It looked nasty. That was the point we decided to go to the Children’s Hospital over waiting to see Dr. H tomorrow.

So I woke my sister up at 8-ish AM on the 4th of July to ask beg her to go with me since it was very likely that restraint in some form was going to be necessary. Plus, with Grandma and Pa-Pa G in Michigan for a wedding someone had to sit with the Boys. So Trisha went with me because she is far more entertaining than Rob in these situations. 😉

The ER at the Children’s Hospital got us back right away and they were really kind to Gavin right off the bat. We had a bit of a wait once in the room because there was a little kid with some pretty serious injuries that needed to be tended to. And Gavin screamed and screeched nearly the whole time!

Then there were moments when the drama was about knee deep or more. I don’t say that to be mean but I about died when he threw his hand out with his snotty tissue between his fingers like it was toxic and said, “Can someone please throw this away for me because I can’t see?” Of course, he failed to notice that he couldn’t see because his eyes were squeezed shut about as tight as possible. (lol)

Once the doctor came in, the screaming and screeching increased but we also got some answers and treatment. So it was a pretty even trade-off. He peeked at Gavin’s eye and said he could see the abrasion with his naked eye. He also said if you can see a corneal abrasion with your naked eye, it’s pretty bad! Then he numbed up Gavin’s eye, put in some dye so he could see the full extent of the abrasion and some other eye drops which he said were like Neosporin for his eye.

Gavin's corneal abrasion

When he put the dye in and used his pocket black light to look at his eye and see the extent of the damage – how large and deep – he allowed Trisha and I too see. It’s big! Even the doctor said it was pretty big. It’s about the size and almost the shape of an eraser at the end of a pencil (in real life, not the size of that one on the left lol).

Gavin was discharged with eye drops and a prescription for Tylenol 3 for the pain. The doctor said that regular Tylenol would help but for an abrasion as bad as Gavin’s he would recommend the Tylenol 3. So, Tylenol 3 it is.

Once he was discharged we made it for home. Now that Gavin has had his medications, he’s been asleep since just after we got home. Unfortunately, Gavin’s screaming and screeching gave me a horrible migraine but Emmett John’s screaming and screeching keep feeding it. And I don’t get to go back to bed, which is incredibly unfair if you ask me. 😉

