I took Mr. Emmett John to see Dr. H. After the Tylenol had kicked in, his fever had dropped from 103 to 99.5, which was comforting to see. Dr. H gave Emmett John the once over and felt that Emmett John most likely had strep throat. So I held Emmett John still and his arms down so he couldn’t use his lightning quick reflexes against us during the strep test. I about lost it (laughing) when I realized that Dr. H was sitting on his rolling circular stool and leaning *way over* to get the strep swab. I asked him if there was perchance a reason. He said, “One of the first things you learn in Residency – after a few swift kicks to the groin during strep swabs etc – is that you need to find ways to protect yourself.” (Lol)

Yes, I will admit, I have a bit, possibly more than a bit, of hero worship for Dr. H. He’s a wonderful man and a miracle worker. When Elliott Richard was 11m he listened to us that something was hinky and being the conservative doc he is he admitted Elliott Richard to the hospital. He’s been conservative and saved my boys nurmerous times over the past 3 years. So yes, I have some Hero worship. But its harmless, I swear. He’s just a good looking doc I worship. (Lol)

Anyway, back to Mr. Emmett John, his appointment and present day things. Then Dr. H tried to get Emmett John to smile. Emmett John just scowled at him per usual after something like that. He wasn’t having any part of the pleasantries stuff. He was done and he wanted to go home – end of story.

We never heard back about the strep, which means that both the Rapid Strep and 24 hour Strep were negative. So we are left to our own devices when it comes to getting him through it. Its been fun. Let me tell you its been…well, it’s been Hell. He screams – a lot. It’s like colicy Emmett John of almost 2 years ago hopped up on steroids!

I pray this is over soon or I might lose my mind before Emmett John ever enters Middle School – forget getting their diplomas. Oy!

* posted on the fly w/o use of proper editing tools 😉 *

~ Lizzeann

