7:30am ~ Gavin is just waking up and already in a horrible mood.

Good morning. Happy Tuesday to you.

Gavin KetZchup

This is my life.

Gavin has an alarm clock. His teachers gave it to him just before Christmas break because they worked on these class projects of “resolutions” of self-improvement before they left for Christmas break. Everyone received an alarm clock to assist them in becoming more independent. They were to begin setting the alarm clock every night so that they can wake up on their own every morning. Thereby removing one thing from our, the parental figures, morning to-do lists.

Gavin doesn’t remember to set his alarm for school. He’ll remember to set it for the weekend when he wants to wake-up at say 4:00am so that he can draw 50 pictures for his imaginary boss but to set it for 7:00am or even 7:30am for school? Forget it.

Therefore, Rob or I must wake him for school every weekday. He’s next to impossible to wake-up. (Thank you, genetics. Thank you, ex-husband.) However, our options Monday through Friday are either fight with him to wake him up or allow him to sleep and eventually go to jail for truancy. I’ll take the fight, thank you. This morning this is how my day started:

6:15am ~  Mr. Emmett John wakes up. He’s grumpy. We go downstairs and begin our morning routine.

6:30am to 7:00am ~ Somewhere in there Rob wakes up and comes downstairs. I just don’t happen to remember when that happened. I was half-asleep.

7:30am ~ Rob takes on Gavin. I mean wakes Gavin up. I make myself a cup of instant French Vanilla flavored coffee. I’m slightly more awake. Gavin is also grumpy.

7:30am to 7:50am ~ Gavin gets ready for school.

(This involves the following:

  1. Wake up
  2. Get dressed
  3. Brush teeth
  4. Go to the bathroom
  5. Find shoes & Put shoes on
  6. Take morning medications
  7. Put coat on
  8. Grab book bag)

7:55am ~ Gavin and I leave for school. I take Emmett John along for the ride this morning, just because. As we leave it is obvious that Gavin is in a horrible mood. So being the good mother that I am, I ask him what’s wrong. Here’s the conversation that I was not expecting to have at 8am.

Me: Gavin, why are you so grumpy?

Gavin: You. Woke. Me. Up.

Me: Excuse me?

Gavin: I said, You. Woke. Me. Up.

(Now technically, I didn’t wake him up. Rob did. I choose not to argue this particular point with him.)

Me: Well, you kind of have to go to school today.

Gavin: I wanted to sleep in and You. Woke. Me. Up.

Me: Yeah. Well, you have school. You didn’t set your alarm clock. You had to wake up somehow. So yes, we woke you up. Get over it.

Gavin: I wanted to sleep in. I didn’t want to get up. You. Woke. Me. Up. So I’m grumpy. ARGH!

(The longer this asinine conversation goes on the more irritated I become.)

Me: Look! In order for you to sleep in as late as you’d like on a school day you would have to be late. If you are late and/or absent too many times, the police will come looking for me and Daddy. They may even send us to jail. I’m not okay with that just so that you can sleep in.

Gavin: I try to remember to set my alarm but I forget.

Me: I thought you had come up with a sign or something at school with Miss S to help you remember to set it.

Gavin: I still can’t remember.

Me: I don’t know that it matters anyhow. You either sleep through the alarm, which leaves Daddy and I to turn it off and then wake you up. Or you hit the snooze, which still leaves us to Wake. You. Up.

(Now, yes, I was getting snippy. I was probably pissing him off and egging him on a bit. I shouldn’t have been. I’m his mother. I’m older. I’m wiser. Ya-hooey ka-blooey. But you know what? Sometimes, as awful as it sounds, I just don’t care. At 7:45-ish in the morning, when he’s being snippy because we dared to wake him for school, I. Don’t. Care. Truth be told, after a few minutes of hearing “You. Woke. Me. Up.” repeatedly; I was exhausted.)

Gavin: I know! I just want to sleep. I don’t want to get up. I want to sleep. I want to be left along. But You. Woke. Me. Up. ARGH!

Me: Again, I’m unwilling to go to jail so you can sleep as late as you like!

Gavin: You. Woke. Me. Up. AH!

(At this point, he slams his head into his lap and just growls at me from the backseat – terrifing Emmett John.)

Me: Really?! I mention the police and you’re still stuck on “You. Woke. Me. Up.”??

Gavin: I’m. Tired.

(As soon as we reached the school, he jumped out as if I had set his seat on fire.)

Me: Goodbye, Gavin! I love you! Have a…

Gavin: Yeah, bye! *SLAM*

Me: good day.

8:10am ~ I’m home. I have a raging migraine, which means my day is shot to Hell. I don’t know where any of that came from. I don’t know what to make of it. I’m pretty sure that his day is also shot to Hell.

PS I did in fact suffer from the “migraine from Hell”, which made my day Hellish. Gavin, however had a “SUPERB DAY” at school. Figures.

