Today’s Small Talk Six is:

6 Unconventional Things You Think People Should Celebrate by Throwing a Party

1.) Divorce ~ All divorcees should have a party to celebrate the end of their lives together just as they had the beginning. It may sound heartless of me but I think it would bring a lot of closure if they did. Nothing wild and crazy, mind you (unless that’s what they want), just something quiet and tasteful. Just the girls.

2.) Death ~ When I pass away I want my family to have a party, not a wake, to celebrate my life and what I meant to them. I want them to mourn me in their own way, in their own time. But when they come together, just before or just after my funeral, I want them to celebrate my life. Celebrate everything I survived. Everything I accomplished. The beautiful children I raised and the family I helped to create. My life.

3.) Gotcha Days ~ Gotcha Days are the days that Adoptive Parents got their Adoptive Children; hense the name “GOTcha Day”. They should celebrate those days because they are special; it is the day when that child was chosen for those parents. When I was a child my adoptive family celebrated my Gotcha Day every year. Now that Gavin has a Gotcha Day, the Day that Rob’s Adoption of him was final, we will celebrate it. I don’t know if other Adoptive Families celebrate this but I think they should. It helps to remind the Adoptive child that while they may have joined the family through different means, they are just as special and loved as the Biological children. Sometimes Adoptive Parents seem to forget that.

4.) Sobriety ~ Sobriety is a challenge to achieve and once achieved it’s a challenge to maintain. I think that some people celebrate this day on some level. I think they all should. Just like a Gotcha Day or a birthday, every year on the date with a big party. Without the alcohol, of course, having alcohol at the party is just silly. But it should definitely be a HUGE shindig, every single year.

5.) Midnight Video Game Releases ~ Whether some people want to admit it or not, video games are no longer “just for nerds“. They are a huge part of everyday culture. As such, the truly popular games are released at midnight (much like the newest Harry Potter or Twilight movies) with big gaming tournaments in the stores leading up to midnight. I think it’s only right that the gamers should then get together for an all-nighter filled with pizza, pop, chips, cookies, cake and candy…oh and the game, of course.

6.) Natural Demise of Abuser/Attacker (natural meaning not caused by you) ~ If you have never been the victim and subsequent survivor of domestic violence, rape, assault etc then you probably won’t understand this one. You also probably think I’m sick, twisted and morbid; which truthfully I am on occassion but this isn’t one of those. All of the anti-anxiety medications and therapy in the world can only get you so far. A dog, alarm system and Civil Protection Order can only protect you so much. Even taking a self defense class, a few times, can only help to a certain point. The nightmares still come. Your life is still changed and tainted. Deep in your brain there still remains that one certainty, that when the abuser, the rapist, the attacker is dead…so is the threat. On that day, you will party. Maybe not with cake and balloons. Maybe just with the first good nights sleep without having to have the dog, alarm and medications. Either way, you will celebrate.

If you would like to join in the fun of the Small Talk Six just head on over to Momdot.com and grab the topic and the graphic. Enjoy! 🙂

Photobucket

