they are a blowing.

Here’s in the Cheerio Household that is. (Okay, totally not our real last name but for the sake of some resemblance of privacy and safety work with me here.) Last Monday Rob and I saw Dr. R, Gavin’s psychatrist and he feels that Gavin does not have signs of Reactive Attachment Disorder (RAD), which was an idea Rob and I had been kicking around with Patty. He feels that it is much more likely a Conduct Disorder. Now some of you may read the definition of Conduct Disorder, shake your heads and say, “Nope, don’t see it.” I’m here to tell you that there is so much that most never see. So trust me when I tell you that Conduct Disorder fits. (It’s another post entirely for me to explain all the reasons why and I’ll try to get to that post ASAP.)

Dr. R said that there is a therapy here in our hometown that is supposed to do wonders with kids with Conduct Disorders. It’s called MST. He also stated that children with Conduct Disorders do well in a strictly structured, prison-like environment. Now our lives are structured already. However, if “prison-like” structure is what we need to keep our family afloat then “prison-like” is what we shall have. I’m in the process of putting a plan into action that will create this ultra-structured environment for my family.

I don’t do well with structure as a whole. My brain just doesn’t seem to work that way. Whenever I attempt to force it to, it just doesn’t work out well. However, it is my hope that if it is my plan and implemented by me then I will be okay with it. Believe me when I say this isn’t a simple plan by any stretch of the imagination. I’ll have to lay it all out for y’all sometime but right now I hear laundry and dishes calling my name.

So the winds of change, they are a blowing. Hopefully they blow us someplace nicer than where we currently are.

Photobucket

