What Emmett John is up to this month:

3 months 1 week
Your baby has been able to recognize you since he was just a few days old, but now he may actually be able to show it. About half of babies this age begin to exhibit an obvious recognition of their parents.Your baby will probably continue to smile at strangers, especially when they look him straight in the eye and coo or talk to him. But he’s starting to sort out who’s who in his life, and he definitely prefers you, your partner, and perhaps a few others.Your baby may quiet down and make eye contact with you, or he may search for you in a room and move his arms in excitement or smile when he finds you. He may even find your scent calming and comforting.

3 months 2 weeks
Babies simply love to be touched. In fact, they thrive on it — touch is a critical part of growth and development. All that skin-to-skin contact not only helps you and your baby bond, but it’s comforting when she’s upset and soothing when she’s irritable.Nurture your baby’s sense of touch with a variety of materials, such as fake fur, felt, and terry cloth. Your baby will probably try to eat everything, so choose carefully and don’t leave her alone with anything that could come apart in her mouth. Look for books like Pat the Bunny that make reading a tactile experience.

3 months 3 weeks
Your baby is starting to draw conclusions about the world around him. He’s looking at everything with curiosity, even his own reflection.Prop an unbreakable mirror next to him or set him in front of your mirror when you’re getting ready in the morning. Your baby won’t realize that it’s actually his image in the mirror (which usually begins to happen well into the second year), but that doesn’t matter. He’ll love staring at his — or anyone else’s — reflection, and he may show his delight with an all-out gummy grin.

3 months 4 weeks
When placed on her stomach, your baby will probably lift her head and shoulders high, using her arms for support. This mini push-up helps strengthen her muscles and gives her a better view of what’s going on. She may even amaze you (and herself!) by rolling from her back to her front, or vice versa.You can encourage this rolling skill through play: Wiggle a toy next to the side she customarily rolls to in case she’s interested enough to try again. Applaud her efforts and smile. She may need your reassurance, as this new skill can be a little frightening.

To “celebrate” his 3 month birthday yesterday we went to the pediatrician’s office. (Oy.) We were supposed to see Dr. H but he had to call in sick so we saw one of his partners, Dr. M. Dr. M used to be my pediatrician when I was a tween and a teen. I liked her back then. Now, I’m not so sure. But I’ll get to that…

We went because Emmett John has been really cranky lately and cycling between spitting up and vomiting. We’ve discussed with Dr. H switching from Zantac to Prevacid at Emmett’s last few appointments but we decided to give it one more shot before switching. Well, none of his partners were comfortable making the switch without seeing Emmett so off we went.

He now weighs 14lb 10.5oz! So his weight gain is definitely slowing down now, which honestly is nice because he has gobs of clothes that he’s out-growing before I can get them on him. We talked with Dr. M about the reflux and this is what she wanted to do, what we are doing and why it all ticks me off a bit.

What she wanted to do:

  • thicken his pumped breast milk to help keep it down (anyone else confused by this statement?)
  • (upon learning that Emmett doesn’t take a bottle) give him bottles of pumped breast milk just so that we could thicken it
  • (or at the very least) stop nursing him on demand and switch to scheduled nursing because she doesn’t like him using nursing to sooth his achy tummy etc
  • switch him cold turkey from Zantac to Prevacid

What we are doing:

  • continuing to nurse exclusively on demand without a schedule (just call me a rebel)
  • switch cold turkey from 1.2mL BID of Zantac to 7.5mg of Prevacid (against my wishes)

Why Dr. M ticks me off a bit:

  • After Emmett John was born he had jaundice and was technically a preemie, which caused him to sleep more than usual. So for his first feeding I gave him 15mL of formula because when I tried to nurse him that first time we were both too exhausted. Then for the first day or so I had to pump first. Give it Emmett to wake him up. Then nurse him. When Dr. M learned this while checking up on Emmett one day in the hospital (she was the ped on call that week) she chewed me a new one! So I got reamed back them for using a bottle (which he fought taking and flat out refuses to take now). Now I’m getting reamed for not using a bottle. (come again…)
  • As for me over-feeding him, I declare shenanigans! First, Le Leche League consultants say that you cannot over-feed a breastfed baby. Second, this is not my first rodeo! I know how to nurse a baby. I know how to tell his hungry cry from his bored and tired and change my diaper cries. I’ve discussed this very topic with Dr. H and we agreed that I would listen to the cry. If I can’t tell the reason for the cry I would try and soothe Emmett John with cuddling and rocking and a bink. If none of those work, then I will nurse him. Besides my children have never been much for rules, if Emmett John isn’t hungry. Guess what? He. Won’t. Nurse. So Dr. M can go jump in a lake because I declare shenanigans and she is full of…*fill in the blank*. So yeah, I have no intention of changing how we breastfeed. It works for Emmett John. He’s happy and sated and gaining weight. If and when any of those three things changes, then I’ll change things. But if it isn’t broke, don’t fix it.
  • I’m irritated that I had to pull Emmett John off the Zantac cold turkey. I’m irritated that when I asked if we could piggy-back I was met with the brush off. She told me that if we piggy-back there is a chance that he could get more of a certain drug (I forget which one) than is safe. Obviously, I don’t want that. But I don’t want my baby to suffer either, while we wait for the Prevacid to kick in. There has to be a middle ground. Somewhere between cold turkey and over-dose. But would Dr. M discuss it? Nope.
  • Emmett John’s Prevacid is a dissolvable tablet. We have to cut it in half. Dissolve it in water. Give it to Emmett. On the bright side, it’s strawberry flavored (the Zantac was mint, which Emmett John hated – apparently all babies hate it). On the not-so-bright-side, it’s next to impossible to get the last little bit of dissolved tablet to leave the stupid tube. Now you may wonder if they make Prevacid in an already mixed by the Pharmacist (you know, those people who went to school to learn how to mix meds) liquid form. The answer to that would a resounding YES! Why Dr. M wouldn’t give us the liquid form over the dissolvable pain in the @$$ tablets, you ask? Lord only knows.

Good thing we have an appointment with Dr. H on Wednesday – I’ll ask him my questions. Maybe then I’ll get some answers that actually pertain to, oh I don’t know, my child. *sigh*

