I’ve been thinking the past few days about how much things have changed from when I was a little girl, even a teenager. When I was younger my family (aunts, uncles, cousins grandparents etc) and friends were my entire world. As I’ve grown up I’ve lost touch with most of my friends because of shifts in interests and hobbies; I’m starting to feel this happening with my family as well. I’m starting to realize that my definition of “family” is slowly changing as well. My family is now my husband and children, my parents, Rob’s parents, our siblings and a few other close family members. I love my extended family to death but it just feels different. That could very easily be me.

Rob’s family is the polar opposite of mine. They are calm and relaxed. When we eat the “kids” eat in one area and hang out and the adults eat in the formal dinning room, more because of space than anything else. Then when we are finished eating everyone sits around in a big group and chats. Last night we sat for an hour or two and just talked and Grandma Gene was jumping in and chatting it up too, which was nice. Then we play board games and chat some more. The kids are free to play where ever and the younger cousins (12-15) hang out with my boys, which they love and gives me a few hours to myself.

My family (God love ’em!) is very loud and outgoing and boisterous. Everyone seems to constantly be on the move. It’s noisy and it just generally *feels* chaotic to me. I used to think I thrive on chaos but it’s becoming more clear that I do not. The men go to one room and chat. The women usually cook. After we eat, everyone together which is cool, the men again go do their thing and the women clean up and then sit and talk.

I’m finding I enjoy the more low-key gatherings these days. There’s very little drama. Husbands aren’t packing up and leaving without their wives. No one is arguing with anyone else. Everyone is just happy to be together. I think part of it has to do with the fact that my life has been total drama and chaos for the past 7 years. I’m long overdue for a break from it all. I like to hear about the drama after it’s all happened. (Yes, I’m nosey. lol) But I’ve grown tired of being plopped down right in the middle. I just don’t have the energy for it anymore.

