Every once in a while I have these…moments where it is glaringly obvious to me that I am mother simply based on my reaction. For example, I just found dried snot from Elliott’s cold/runny nose on my hand. It did not gross me out. It did not affect me in any way shape or form. I grabbed a wet wipe and cleaned it off. End of story. Before kids, that would have been gross and disgusting.

I can’t remember my first moment like that after Gavin was born. However, I do remember the first one after Elliott was born. Elliott was maybe 3 months old, tops. It was some where between 2 and 4 a.m. and I had just nursed Elliott. I was laying on the couch and Elliott was laying on my chest. He spit-up in my hair. I was sitting up and the way I holding him, well, he then spit-up IN my mouth. Prior to this very moment, the thought of this ever happening to me was too gross for words. Once it happened…well, it really didn’t matter. I was slightly grossed out. But I just kept on going. No big deal.

Crazy the things that become normal once you are a mother.

